Sunday, April 02, 2006

The Spin-back shot (is it good?)

A True Story...
This happened to me the other day while playing Friday Doubles at the Arlington Y.

On a sharp cross-court ball to my forehand, I stabbed at it and managed to get a piece of it. I felt like the ball barely ricocheted up against the inner edge of my frame (accidentally).

This resulted in a short pop-up (a.k.a. drop volley) with so much backspin, it bounced on their court and then
rebounded BACK onto our side of the net, for a winner.

I've only read about this situation in the tennis rule books and actually saw it once being played on TV. But it's one shot that I had never been able to pull off in practice--much less in a real game situation in all my 15 years of playing the game! Needless to say, I was stoked**

...Btw, according to Tennis Magazine, if I had tried to volley the ball back before it bounced on my side, it would have been considered a double hit. Between the time when the ball bounces on their side and mine, the opponent must contact the ball or else it's my point.

Below is a question that was asked on thetennischannel.com:

Q) If I volley the ball and it lands on my opponentÂ’s side of the net, then bounces back over to my side of the net before my opponent has made any kind of contact with the ball, then I fail to return the shot, whose point is it? Steve - Utica, NY

A) It is your point. Your opponent must strike the ball with his/her racquet. If possible, your opponent has the option to reach over the net to strike such a ball (before the second bounce).

Related Posts